Go Back   Cadalyst Discussion Forums > Forums > CAD Questions
FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Notices

CAD Questions Need Help? Moderator Paul Aubin and the CAD community tackle all your CAD-related questions.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-30-2011, 09:59 AM
meredith610 meredith610 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 18
Question "Normal Z"

I received a file that had been converted from microstation to autocad. Alot of the arcs have a "Normal Z" value of -1 which is making it impossible to join in a polyline or create a boundary or hatch. The rest of the linework has a "Normal Z" of 1. This is not the Z coordinate of the arc. It is the last description in the properties box. Does anyone have any tips on how to get this -1 Normal Z to 1 Normal Z? I have tried the flatten command but it completely distorts the arc. Any insight would be much appreciated. Thanks so much!
  #2  
Old 03-30-2011, 10:33 AM
startrek's Avatar
startrek startrek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 799
Send a message via Skype™ to startrek
Default

Did you try to use CHPROP dialog box, select all arcs and change Z to whatever you need ?? I am just guessing - converted drawings are "ROYAL PAIN.... you know where"
__________________
Len Nemirovsky http://home.pacifier.com/~nemi
Whenever ideas are shared, the result is
always greater than sum of the parts.
  #3  
Old 03-30-2011, 01:37 PM
alanjt's Avatar
alanjt alanjt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 307
Default

Code:
Command: change

Select objects: Specify opposite corner: 1 found

Select objects:
Specify change point or [Properties]: p
Enter property to change 
[Color/Elev/LAyer/LType/ltScale/LWeight/Thickness/Material/Annotative]: e

Specify new elevation <63.17>: 0

Enter property to change 
[Color/Elev/LAyer/LType/ltScale/LWeight/Thickness/Material/Annotative]:
  #4  
Old 03-30-2011, 03:25 PM
Cap'n Mac's Avatar
Cap'n Mac Cap'n Mac is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bryan, Texas
Posts: 2,195
Default

I'm just hoping that the arc was not made "normal" to the skewed geometry.

I've worked with some CE drawings that had multiple Z planes used, and they "forced" the tangent arcs only looking at the data in "flat' 2D form. Go to change the radius, or move the curbs, and whammo!

Next-worst would be when a less-experienced drafter would not cure the problem, but just used "Fit" and a PLine for the answer. The resulting radius (or range of radii) are the thing that has the excavator calling up and demonstrating a vocabulary of invective and expletive of some marvel (if little utility).

Sadly, sometimes the answer is to just buckle down and fix the geometry yourself.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:50 PM.





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.