Go Back   Cadalyst Discussion Forums > Forums > CAD Questions
FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Notices

CAD Questions Need Help? Moderator Paul Aubin and the CAD community tackle all your CAD-related questions.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2008, 08:57 AM
startrek's Avatar
startrek startrek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 799
Send a message via Skype™ to startrek
Default E-transmit from AutoCAD 2007 to earlier versions

May be somebody had that problem before.... Please - need input, I sound like a robot . ANYWAY.
We work in AutoCAD 2007/2008 format. I need to send drawing to client in 2004 format. Simple saving as 2004 drawing will not work - there are dozen x-ref drawings. I convert them too, but E-transmit converts them all back into 2007/2008 format. Do I need to set in OPTIONS>Open and Save>save as
Save as:AutoCAD 2004 Drawing
???????????????
Any thoughts.....?
Thanks
__________________
Len Nemirovsky http://home.pacifier.com/~nemi
Whenever ideas are shared, the result is
always greater than sum of the parts.
  #2  
Old 02-13-2008, 03:41 PM
Syd_Derbyshire Syd_Derbyshire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 96
Wink E-transmit from AutoCAD 2007 to earlier versions

Try Export to AutoCAD > [Select down to R14] on cascade menu from File pull down. This will export (and bind all references, but loose any 3D element), as the revision selected to a browsed folder of your choice.
The default name is the drawing number prefixed with ACAD- , but this prefix is selectable in OPTIONS. The original drawing remains in the editor, the whole process being transparent.
  #3  
Old 02-13-2008, 04:42 PM
startrek's Avatar
startrek startrek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 799
Send a message via Skype™ to startrek
Default

Syd I can't find under File puldown the option you mentioned, all I can see Export... but that does not have what you described. can you elaborate a bit more
__________________
Len Nemirovsky http://home.pacifier.com/~nemi
Whenever ideas are shared, the result is
always greater than sum of the parts.
  #4  
Old 02-13-2008, 07:12 PM
wizman's Avatar
wizman wizman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Abu Dhabi / Philippines
Posts: 276
Default

hi startrek, when you open the etransmit dialog box, there is a transmittal setup button, click it and modify it to suit the file format you would like for all your files. your zipped will contain the version you picked but the original file remains in your default save as dwg type. also, the downloadable, DWG TRUECONVERT does same trick too, if you want to batch convert to any release.

Last edited by wizman; 02-13-2008 at 07:14 PM.
  #5  
Old 02-14-2008, 03:13 AM
Syd_Derbyshire Syd_Derbyshire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 96
Question E-transmit from AutoCAD 2007 to earlier versions

Hi Len

Perhaps this option is only available in AutoCAD Architecture 2008 (formerly ADT and available in 2006), which is the package we use.
Try typing at the command line ExportToAutoCAD2000 or ExportToAutoCADR14.
  #6  
Old 02-14-2008, 07:28 AM
startrek's Avatar
startrek startrek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 799
Send a message via Skype™ to startrek
Default

Thanks to both of you. Syd - unfortunatly it does not work in plain AutoCAD
vizman - thanks for pointing me to that button in e-transmit set up. I use e-transmit for so many years, and this dialog box to, but for some reason did not pay attension to THAT OPTION....very silllllly of me hm, to say the least.
In DWG TRUECONVERT I did not find any tricks, probably I am using older version.....need to investigate, I'll put on sunglases to look and feel like detective and "go to vork"
THANKS TO BOTH OF YOU
__________________
Len Nemirovsky http://home.pacifier.com/~nemi
Whenever ideas are shared, the result is
always greater than sum of the parts.
  #7  
Old 02-22-2008, 01:24 PM
jonwilli jonwilli is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 266
Default

I use 2008 and have a few different 'profiles' I use for backsaving. The all work. Can I suggest creating a few different 'transmittal setups' and be sure visual fidelity is on. Try viewing the 'view report' and look under 'conversion' to see what it is doing. It's hard to imagine your version doesn't do this.
__________________
The world is not as strange as you think, but stranger than you CAN think! ~ R.A.W.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:35 PM.





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.