Go Back   Cadalyst Discussion Forums > Forums > CAD Questions
FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Notices

CAD Questions Need Help? Moderator Paul Aubin and the CAD community tackle all your CAD-related questions.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-21-2004, 10:08 AM
Bruce T's Avatar
Bruce T Bruce T is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 503
Default Batting Insulation line type scale

I have some drawings with "Batting Insulation " lines in threir xrefs. When I plot them some drawings show the batting correct (ZigZag) and some of them just show a stright line. I looked at the ltscale and anything I could think of but so far I can not figure out what the problem is. Help! Thank you.
  #2  
Old 07-21-2004, 12:19 PM
glennp's Avatar
glennp glennp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 799
Send a message via Yahoo to glennp Send a message via Skype™ to glennp
Default Re: Batting Insulation line type scale

Have you checked the linetype scale for each line?
  #3  
Old 07-21-2004, 03:14 PM
Bruce T's Avatar
Bruce T Bruce T is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 503
Default Re: Batting Insulation line type scale

I have 2 drawings. As far as I know they are identical. I checked line type scale of individual lines and ltscale of drawings. All are the same. But one drawing plot batting line like a continues line. It's strange!! Is there another factor that I don't know of. In general I have had problem with batting lines in the past. It's hard to manage them.
  #4  
Old 07-22-2004, 07:16 AM
Cap'n Mac's Avatar
Cap'n Mac Cap'n Mac is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bryan, Texas
Posts: 2,195
Default Re: Batting Insulation line type scale

This will sound dumb, but isn't. Is the "batting" linetype loaded in the problematic drawing? It ought to be, doesn't mean that it is. I ran into a drawing where the batting was in the XREFed drawing, not the open drawing--that was more than a bit frustrating.

I'd check the lineweight, if your version supports lineweight by entity.
  #5  
Old 07-23-2004, 09:09 AM
Bruce T's Avatar
Bruce T Bruce T is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 503
Default Re: Batting Insulation line type scale

I give up. I checked everything I could think of. Identical drawings, different results. I have this lisp routine that draws batt insulation line. It used to work fine with acad 12 but now it does unpredictable goofy stuff. If anyone can try it and find the problem would be greate and much appreciated.

;; BI.LSP
;;
;; By David Sides
;; Compuserve 70031,1263
;; September 27, 1994
;;
;; This routine draws architectural batt insulation in
;; sectional view at any angle with a user specified
;; thickness using polyarcs and pline segments.
;;
;; Most batt insulation routines use a block or a splined
;; pline to draw the insulation.
;;
;; I personally do not like to use a block that is inserted
;; multiple times. (It is a real pain if you ever have to
;; edit the detail to erase all those blocks.) The splined
;; pline routines rarely draw a smooth curve.
;;
;;================================================ ==========
(defun SSV (savelist)
(mapcar
'(lambda (sysvar)
(list sysvar (getvar sysvar))
)
savelist)
)
(setq lista '("aunits" "auprec" "blipmode" "cmdecho"
"orthomode"))
;;================================================ =========
(defun RSV (savelist)
(mapcar
'(lambda (sysvar)
(setvar (car sysvar)(cadr sysvar))
(car sysvar)
)
savelist)
)
;;================================================ ==========
(defun HI ()
(setq olderr *error*)
(defun *error* (errstr)
(print errstr)(princ)
(setq lista (RSV lista))
(setq *error* olderr)
(princ)
)
(setq lista (SSV lista))
(setvar "aunits" 3)
(setvar "auprec" 8)
(setvar "blipmode" 0)
(setvar "cmdecho" 0)
(setvar "orthomode" 0)
(prompt "\nArchitectural batt insulation. ")
(prompt "\nBy David Sides. Sept. 27, 1994. ")
(princ)
)
;;================================================ ============
(defun BYE ()
(setq lista (RSV lista))
(setq *error* olderr)(princ)
(princ "\nProcessing complete. ")
(princ)
)
;;================================================ ============
(defun c:BI (/ A ANG1 ANG2 ANG3 ANG4 ANG5 ANG6 LEN1 LEN2 PT1
PT2 PT3 PT4 PT5 PT6 PT7 THK1 THK2 THK3 THK4)
(HI)
(setq PT1 (getpoint "\nEnter start point... ")
PT2 (getpoint PT1 "\nEnter end point. ")
THK1(getreal "\nEnter insulation thickness. ")
THK2(* THK1 0.25)
THK3(* THK1 0.40000000)
THK4(* THK1 0.44721360)
LEN1(distance PT1 PT2)
LEN2(/ LEN1 THK1)
ANG1(angle PT1 PT2)
ANG2(+ ANG1 0.0)
ANG3(+ ANG1 1.10714872)
ANG4(+ ANG1 2.21429744)
ANG5(+ ANG1 4.06888787)
ANG6(+ ANG1 4.24874137)
a 0
)
(while (< a LEN2)
(if (= a 0)
(progn
(setq PT3 (polar PT1 ANG3 THK4)
PT4 (polar PT3 ANG4 THK2)
PT5 (polar PT4 ANG2 THK3)
PT6 (polar PT5 ANG5 THK2)
PT7 (polar PT6 ANG2 THK3)
a 0.5
)
(command ".pline" PT1 "w" 0.0 0.0 "a" "d"
ANG2 PT3 "l" PT4 "a" PT5 "l" PT6 "a" PT7)
)
(progn
(setq PT3 PT7
PT4 (polar PT3 ANG4 THK2)
PT5 (polar PT4 ANG2 THK3)
PT6 (polar PT5 ANG5 THK2)
PT7 (polar PT6 ANG2 THK3))
(command PT3 "l" PT4 "a" PT5 "l" PT6 "a" PT7)
(setq a (+ a 0.5))
)
)
)
(command "")
(command ".break" "l" PT7 (polar PT7 ANG6 THK4))
(BYE)
(princ)
)
  #6  
Old 07-23-2004, 12:09 PM
CarlB CarlB is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 667
Default Re: Batting Insulation line type scale

Bruce,
One suggestion for each of your problems. You may have checked these already.
For linetype problem, are you using a polyline? If so make sure LTGEN is on.
Regarding the lisp, make sure your object snaps are turned off before you run the routine.
  #7  
Old 07-26-2004, 07:21 AM
Cap'n Mac's Avatar
Cap'n Mac Cap'n Mac is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bryan, Texas
Posts: 2,195
Default Re: Batting Insulation line type scale

Ok, I think I may have a suspect from the code. One of the cool features we have now that we did not have then was OSnaps. There's R12 code out there (some mine) that does not take the OSmode into consideration. Why would that be a problem? If the point you are selecting is within the "reach" of the osmode to another point, that point is selected (no matter how precisely you use (polar) or the like). It may be that your batting is "all there," it's just that the points defaulted into a straight line.

Try a PEdit on the suspect lines and see how many points they own. The quick and dirty workaround is to toggle the OSnap off (F3 for most users), and run your Batt subr. The better answer is to add "OSMODE" to the system variables read. You then want to turn it off (setvar "OSMODE" 0) before generating any points. (That being said, it is really much better practice to put the OSnap "back" for any user-generated points; this can prevent user confusion.)
  #8  
Old 07-30-2004, 10:00 AM
ARHEngineering ARHEngineering is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2
Default Re: Batting Insulation line type scale

I've had this problem before and my solution was to check the linetype manager settings for global scale factor, current object scale, and using paper space for scaling. Setting these in the "bad" drawing to those values in the "good" drawing worked for us. I don't really know what they all mean, but it worked. We now standardize these settings on all our drawings so we no longer have this problem.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:00 PM.





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.